Mayor Jackson to swear-in newly and reappointed board members in - Cleveland 19 News Cleveland, OH

Mayor Jackson to swear-in newly and reappointed board members in July

Mayor Frank G. Jackson announced Thursday that the Cleveland Metropolitan School District (CMSD) Board of Education selection process has concluded.

The newly appointed members are Ms. Shaletha T. Mitchell and Mr. Eric L. Wobser. The Mayor reappointed Board Members Denise W. Link, Louise P. Dempsey, and Iris M. Rodriguez whose terms expired on June 30, 2011. Former CMSD Board Members Rashidah Abdulhaqq and Colonel Harvey Hopson, Jr. were not reappointed.

"I would like to thank both Ms. Abdulhaqq and Colonel Hopson, Jr., for their service to the CMSD Board. I appreciate their work and desire to see our children succeed. I wish them well and am grateful for their service," said Mayor Frank G. Jackson.

Shaletha Mitchell resides on the Eastside of Cleveland and has worked as an advocate for youth for more than 20 years. Ms. Mitchell is completing the requirements to earn a Ph.D. at Kent State University; she has earned a Master of Arts in Education from Cleveland State University. Ms. Mitchell is the Manager of the Health & Wellness Center at Cuyahoga Community College.

Eric Wobser resides on the Westside of Cleveland with his wife and they are expecting their first child. Mr. Wobser earned his law degree from the University of Michigan and his bachelor's degree from Ohio

University. Mr. Wobser currently serves as the Executive Director of Ohio City Inc. and formerly worked for the City of Cleveland as a Special Projects Manager in the Mayor's Office.

CMSD Board members:

Denise W. Link, reappointed

Eric L. Wobser, new

Louise P. Dempsey, reappointed Patricia Crutchfield, term expires 6/30/2013

Iris M. Rodriguez, reappointed Robert M. Heard, Sr., term expires 6/30/2013

Shaletha T. Mitchell, new

Mayor Jackson will swear-in board members on July 11, 2011 at 9:15 a.m. at Cleveland City Hall in the Mayor's Red Room. The board terms of the newly and reappointed members will expire on June 30, 2015.

In addition, there is a vacancy on the Board due to the recent resignation of Natalie Peterson. A search to fill this seat will begin in the coming weeks.

Willetta A. Milam, term expires 6/30/2013


Copyright 2011 WOIO. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly