Browns will add two players to Legends club

Browns will induct two more to Legends club
Browns will induct two more to Legends club

The Cleveland Browns will induct former linebacker Vince Costello (1957-66) and center Tom DeLeone (1974-84) into the Cleveland Browns Legends, the team announced on Tuesday.

The pair will be honored during a special halftime ceremony at Cleveland Browns Stadium during the Browns home game on September 25th against the Miami Dolphins.

The Browns created the Cleveland Browns Legends program in 2001 to honor former players annually who have made a major impact on the organization.

LB Vince Costello (1957-66) – Helped Cleveland capture the 1964 NFL championship and make an appearance in the 1957 NFL Championship Game… Recorded 18 interceptions with the Browns, including tying for the team lead with seven in 1963… Appeared in 146 career regular season games, including 130 with the Browns… Played the final two years of his career with the New York Giants (1967-68).

C Tom DeLeone (1974-84) – Selected to the 1980 and 1981 Pro Bowls… Blocked for six 1,000-yard rushing performers… Helped the Browns to playoff appearances in 1980 and 1982 and the AFC Central Division title in 1980…  Part of an offensive line that protected for quarterback Brian Sipe, who led the NFL with 4,132 passing yards in 1980… Appeared in 176 career regular season games, including 149 with the Browns…  Played the first two years of his career with the Cincinnati Bengals (1972-73).

Cleveland Browns Legends*

Class of 2001: Ray Renfro, Gene Hickerson, Greg Pruitt, Bernie Kosar, Michael Dean Perry

Class of 2002: Mac Speedie, Brian Sipe, Clay Matthews

Class of 2003: Bob Gain, Dick Schafrath, Hanford Dixon

Class of 2004: Tommy James, Dub Jones, Gary Collins, Mike Pruitt

Class of 2005: Jim Ray Smith, Frank Ryan, Jerry Sherk, Frank Minnifield

Class of 2006:  Walt Michaels, Jim Houston, Doug Dieken, Earnest Byner

Class of 2007:  Horace Gillom, Bill Glass, Don Cockroft, Kevin Mack

Class of 2008:  Warren Lahr, Paul Wiggin, Walter Johnson, Eric Metcalf

Class of 2010:  Cody Risien, John Wooten

* The Legends program started in 2001 with the automatic induction of the Browns' then Hall of Famers.