Joe Thomas elected to fifth straight Pro Bowl

Joe Thomas is headed to the Pro Bowl
Joe Thomas is headed to the Pro Bowl

Cleveland Browns offensive tackle Joe Thomas has been named a starter on the 2012 AFC Pro Bowl squad, the league announced on Tuesday. The Pro Bowl will be played on Sunday, January 29 in Honolulu, Hawaii.

Thomas has been selected to the Pro Bowl in all five of his NFL seasons. He has not missed an offensive snap since joining the Browns as the third overall pick of the 2007 NFL Draft, starting all 15 contests at left tackle this season.

Thomas joins Hall of Fame running back Jim Brown (1958-66) as the only Browns selected to the Pro Bowl in each of their first five seasons in the league. The last Browns player to be named to five or more consecutive Pro Bowls was Hall of Fame running back Leroy Kelly, who earned the honor for the 1967-72 Pro Bowls. Thomas is one of 11 Browns to earn Pro Bowl honors five or more times. He joins Richmond Webb (Miami Dolphins, 1991-97) as the only NFL offensive linemen to be named to the Pro Bowl in each of their first five seasons since 1970.

In addition, D'Qwell Jackson was named a first alternate at inside linebacker and Joshua Cribbs was selected as a second alternative as a kick return specialist and third alternate as a special teamer.


Player                            Pos.            Years#                     Total        

1.     Jim Brown*                    RB            1958-66                       9

Lou Groza*                      T              1951-56, 1958-60        9

3.     Leroy Kelly*                  RB            1967-72                       6

Gene Hickerson*             G              1966-71                       6

Dick Schafrath                 T              1964-69                       6

6.    Joe Thomas                    T              2008-12                       5

Michael Dean Perry        NT            1990-92, 1994-95        5

Bob Gain                     DT/DE         1958-60, 1962-63        5

Mike McCormack*          T              1957-58, 1961-63        5

Jim Ray Smith                 G              1959-63                       5

Otto Graham*                QB            1951-55                       5