Federal assistance available for farmers who had frost losses

Federal assistance available for farmers who had frost losses

WARREN, OH (WOIO) - Federal assistance is available for area farmers and agricultural producers who experienced losses due to frost and freezes earlier this year.

U.S. Sen. Sherrod Brown announced the emergency funding today and said the U.S. Department of Agriculture designated Ashtabula, Geauga and Lake counties as primary disaster areas and Cuyahoga, Portage, Summit and Trumbull counties as contiguous natural disaster counties due to frost and freezes.

"Ohio producers whose livelihoods are threatened by no fault of their own deserve economic relief so they can replant and rebuild," Brown said. "The USDA disaster designation for farmers from these counties provides support for Ohioans who work to support our state's largest industry."

Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of a disaster designation to apply for emergency loan assistance. For information, contact a Farm Service Agency office or go to www.fsa.udsa.gov/FSA/webapp?area=home&subject=diap&topic=landing.

Copyright 2012 WOIO. All rights reserved.