Joe Thomas and Phil Dawson voted to AFC Pro Bowl team

Joe Thomas and Phil Dawson voted to AFC Pro Bowl team
Joe Thomas and Phil Dawson voted to AFC Pro Bowl team

Cleveland (WOIO) - Browns left tackle Joe Thomas and kicker Phil Dawson were voted to the AFC squad, the league announced on Wednesday.

Josh Cribbs was named as a first alternate at the special teams and returner position and linebacker D'Qwell Jackson is also a first alternate .

Thomas, who was voted to his sixth straight Pro Bowl, has been voted to the game in every season in his career.  Of the 15 NFL players who have the Pro Bowl in their first six seasons in the league, 13 have made the Pro Football Hall Of Fame.

"I think I feel I'm getting better every year and my best is still yet to come so I still feel like I've got more in the tank and hopefully next year will be better than this year and I'll keep growing that pattern," said on Wednesday prior to the Pro Bowl teams being announced.

Dawson is the first kicker to make the Pro Bowl since Lou Groza.  Dawson's 96.6 (28 of 29) field goal percentage this season leads the AFC and he is 6 for 6 on field goals from 50 yards or longer, which is tied for the most in the AFC. With 112 points, he extended his team-record to six 100-point seasons in his career.

"I was happy that Phil and Joe were recognized for having Pro Bowl seasons," said Browns Head Coach Pat Shurmur.  "Phil has been one of the most consistent kickers in the NFL throughout his career, and this year he was near-perfect, including many long-range field goals. I believe it is very appropriate that he is getting his due credit after 14 years in the league. Joe has established himself as one of the top left tackles in the game, and he has played at a very high level once again this year.  He was a big part of the improvement that I felt we made as an offense."

The game will be played January 27 in Honolulu, Hawai'i.

Copyright 2012 WOIO. All rights reserved.