Voting shutout at Baseball Hall of Fame

Voting shutout at Baseball Hall of Fame

(WOIO) - There were no winning candidates emerging from the Baseball Hall of Fame balloting conducted by the Baseball Writers' Association of America (BBWAA) and verified by Ernst & Young.

There were 569 ballots cast, the third highest total in the history of voting. However, none of the 37 candidates in the 2013 vote gained mention.

Each requiring 75 percent for election to the National Baseball Hall of Fame.

Craig Biggio, totaled 3,060 hits and was a seven-time All-Star while playing three positions (catcher, second base, and outfield), topped the ballot reflecting a 68.2 percent electorate approval with 388 votes  ended up being 39 votes shy of the 427 needed for election.

The BBWAA consists of members with 10 or more consecutive years of Major League Baseball coverage.

Five blank ballots were among those submitted.

Other players named on more than half the ballots were pitcher Jack Morris with 385 votes, first baseman Jeff Bagwell with 339, catcher Mike Piazza with 329, and outfielder Tim Raines with 297.

Hall of Fame president Jeff Idelson said:

The standards for earning election to the Hall of Fame have been very high ever since the rules were created in 1936. We realize the challenges voters are faced with in this era.  The Hall of Fame has always entrusted the elusive voting privilege to the BBWAA . We remain pleased with their role the evaluating candidates based on the criteria we provide.

This is the eighth election by the BBWAA that did not produce a Hall of Famer and the first since 1996.

That year the top three players on the ballot were Phil Niekro, Tony Perez, and Don Sutton who were subsequently elected.

There were 19 candidates who failed to make the cut this year (29 votes) – 18 of the 24 players were on the ballot for the first time.

These include pitchers Curt Schilling and Roger Clemens and outfielders Barry Bonds and Sammy Sosa.

They will become holdovers earning enough votes that to remain on the ballot joining  others such as:

Biggio, Norris, Bagwell, Piazza, and Raines are first basemen Mark McGwire, Fred McGriff, Don Mattingly and Rafael Palmerio, pitcher Lee Smith; shortstop Alan Trammell; designated hitter-third baseman Edgar Martined and outfielder Larry Walker.

The induction weekend ceremony will be Sunday, July 28, 2013 at the Clark Sports Center in Cooperstown, N.Y., will include three pre-integration committee elected- umpire Hank O'Day, New York Yankees owner Jacob Ruppert and 19th century player Deacon White.

The Hall of Fame will recognize 12 individuals previously counted among its roster of members who never had a formal induction due to wartime restrictions.

These inductions include Lou Gehrig (1939) and Rogers Hornsby (1942), along with the entire class of 1945 selected by the committee on Old Timers.

Paul Hagen, winner of the J.G. Taylor Spink Award for baseball writing, and the late Tom Cheek, the Ford C. Frick Award winner for broadcasting, will be honored in a presentation on July 27th in Cooperstown.

Copyright 2013 WOIO. All rights reserved.