Ohio State, Big Ten release 2014 football schedule

Ohio State, Big Ten release 2014 football schedule
Ohio State, Big Ten release 2014 football schedule
Ohio State, Big Ten release 2014 football schedule

COLUMBUS, OH (WOIO) - The Big Ten office announced the conference schedule for the 2014 football season Thursday, as approved by the Big Ten Directors of Athletics. The 2014 schedule will consist of eight games for each of the Big Ten's 14 teams, feature a new division alignment, include the conference debut of Maryland and Rutgers and culminate with the fourth annual Big Ten Football Championship Game.

One week after Rutgers hosts Penn State in the initial Big Ten game of 2014 (and only conference game on Sept. 13), Ohio State will kick off its 2014 Big Ten season with the first of consecutive games against the two newest members of the Big Ten, Maryland and Rutgers. The Buckeyes travel to College Park, Md., Oct. 4 for their first-ever game against the Terrapins at Capital One Field at Byrd Stadium and, following an off week, host the Rutgers Scarlet Knights Oct. 18 at Ohio Stadium.

The game with Rutgers will start a stretch of seven consecutive weeks of games for Ohio State as both of its off weeks - Sept. 6 and Oct. 11 - occur in the first seven weeks of the season. Following the Rutgers game, Ohio State plays at Penn State (Oct. 25), hosts Illinois (Nov. 1), goes on the road for consecutive games against Michigan State (Nov. 8) and Minnesota (Nov. 15), and closes with home games against Indiana (Nov. 22) and Michigan (Nov. 29).

Ohio State's 2014 non-conference schedule includes games against Navy in Baltimore at the Baltimore Ravens' M&T Bank Stadium (Aug. 30) and three home games in Ohio Stadium: Sept. 13 vs. Kent State; Sept. 20 vs. Virginia Tech and Sept. 27 vs. Cincinnati.

Big Ten teams from the West Division Ohio State will not play in the 2014 regular season: Iowa, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue and Wisconsin. Here is a look at all of the East Division's "no plays" for 2014:

Indiana: Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Wisconsin
Maryland: Illinois, Minnesota, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue
Michigan: Illinois, Iowa, Nebraska, Purdue, Wisconsin
Michigan State: Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Northwestern, Wisconsin
Ohio State: Iowa, Nebraska, Northwestern, Purdue, Wisconsin
Penn State: Iowa, Minnesota, Nebraska, Purdue, Wisconsin
Rutgers: Illinois, Iowa, Minnesota, Northwestern, Purdue

2014 Ohio State Football Schedule
Aug. 30 - vs. Navy (at Baltimore's M&T Bank Stadium)
Sept. 6 - Off
Sept. 13 - Kent State
Sept. 20 - Virginia Tech
Sept. 27 - Cincinnati
Oct. 4 - at Maryland
Oct. 11 - Off
Oct. 18 - Rutgers
Oct. 25 - at Penn State
Nov. 1 - Illinois
Nov. 8 - at Michigan State
Nov. 15 - at Minnesota
Nov. 22 - Indiana
Nov. 29 - Michigan
Dec. 6 - Big Ten Championship Game