Browns to induct Fiss, Gibron to Legends - Cleveland 19 News Cleveland, OH

Browns to induct Fiss, Gibron to Legends

BEREA, Ohio – The Cleveland Browns willinduct former linebacker Galen Fiss (1956-65) and guard Abe Gibron(1950-56) into the Cleveland Browns Legends during the Browns-Bengals game atFirstEnergy Stadium on Sunday, the team announced Thursday.

Fiss and Gibron will be honoredthroughout Alumni Weekend (Friday-Sunday), highlighted by a pregame inductionceremony. Including the 2013 honorees, the Cleveland Browns Legends boasts 54members.

Launched in 2001, the Cleveland BrownsLegends recognizes former players who have made a major impact on theorganization, with new members inducted each year except for 2009.

The Browns will continue theircelebration of former players with a ceremony honoring Pro Football Hall ofFame running back Jim Brown during the Browns-Bills game on Thursday, Oct. 3,broadcast nationally on the NFL Network. Brown, along with all of the team'sthen-Hall of Famers, was a charter member of the Cleveland Browns Legends in2001.


LB Galen Fiss(1956-65) –Two-time Pro Bowl selection (1963-64)…Helped Browns compile 84-4-1 record(.667), reach the playoffs four times, win three division titles and claim 1964league championship…Registered 13 interceptions…Played in 139 games…Drafted byCleveland in the 13th round (No. 155 overall) of the 1953 NFL Draft…AttendedUniversity of Kansas…Native of Johnson, Kansas.

G Abe Gibron (1950-56) – Two-timeall-league honoree (1954-55)…Four-time Pro Bowl selection (1953-56)…Played in84 games…Helped Browns compile a 63-20-1 record (.756), claim six consecutivedivision titles and win three league championships…Blocked for Pro FootballHall of Famers Otto Graham and Marion Motley...Served as head coach of theChicago Bears from 1972-74…Attended Purdue University…Native of Michigan City,Indiana.


Class of 2001*:          GeneHickerson, Bernie Kosar, Michael Dean Perry, Greg Pruitt, Ray Renfro  

Classof 2002:           Clay Matthews,Brian Sipe, Mac Speedie

Classof 2003:           Hanford Dixon, BobGain, Dick Schafrath

Classof 2004:           Gary Collins, MikePruitt, Tommy James, Dub Jones

Classof 2005:           Frank Minnifield,Frank Ryan, Jerry Sherk, Jim Ray Smith

Classof 2006:           Earnest Byner,Doug Dieken, Jim Houston, Walt Michaels

Classof 2007:           Don Cockroft,Horace Gillom, Bill Glass, Kevin Mack

Classof 2008:           Walter Johnson,Warren Lahr, Eric Metcalf, Paul Wiggin
Class of 2010:           Cody Risien, JohnWooten
Class of 2011:           Vince Costello,Tom DeLeone
Class of 2012:           Ernie Green,Clarence Scott

* Browns Pro Football Hall of Famers were automatically inducted in 2001.

Powered by Frankly