Special Report: Nursing home inspection reports - Cleveland 19 News Cleveland, OH

Special Report: Nursing home inspection reports

Tips when looking into long term care for a loved one Tips when looking into long term care for a loved one
  • Special ReportsMore>>

  • The path to a debt-free education? Save early and often

    The path to a debt-free education? Save early and often

    Friday, June 15 2018 6:10 PM EDT2018-06-15 22:10:31 GMT

    Jonathan Sagaser is one of millions of American parents working to send his kids to college. "We had the inspiration to do it early on," he says. Jon and his wife own Sebastiano's Italian restaurant in South Toledo. Their three children, age six, four and two spend a lot of time there as the couple sometimes works 60 to 80 hours a week as small business owners. They plan to pay for half of each of their children's education. "I guess we just want to give them a little b...

    More >>

    Jonathan Sagaser is one of millions of American parents working to send his kids to college. "We had the inspiration to do it early on," he says. Jon and his wife own Sebastiano's Italian restaurant in South Toledo. Their three children, age six, four and two spend a lot of time there as the couple sometimes works 60 to 80 hours a week as small business owners. They plan to pay for half of each of their children's education. "I guess we just want to give them a little b...

    More >>
  • Day tripping: Have an adventure without busting your budget

    Day tripping: Have an adventure without busting your budget

    Tuesday, June 12 2018 10:40 AM EDT2018-06-12 14:40:18 GMT
    (Source: WTOL)(Source: WTOL)

    We're all familiar with our fantastic metroparks, the Toledo Zoo and the Toledo Museum of Art. We have our staples, but if you're up for an adventure this summer, and need to watch your wallet, you need ideas and advice. “The more you can be out and about doing things, the less time they're spending in front of a tablet or a TV,” said Jen Sherwin.  Between nieces and nephews, babysitting, and her own child, Sherwin has finding things to do down to a science.

    More >>

    We're all familiar with our fantastic metroparks, the Toledo Zoo and the Toledo Museum of Art. We have our staples, but if you're up for an adventure this summer, and need to watch your wallet, you need ideas and advice. “The more you can be out and about doing things, the less time they're spending in front of a tablet or a TV,” said Jen Sherwin.  Between nieces and nephews, babysitting, and her own child, Sherwin has finding things to do down to a science.

    More >>
  • Rents with Benefits: How to negotiate a better rent in an owner's market

    Rents with Benefits: How to negotiate a better rent in an owner's market

    Sunday, June 10 2018 6:10 PM EDT2018-06-10 22:10:48 GMT
    The Toledo rental market is tight with more renters looking for a place to live than available units (Source: WTOL)The Toledo rental market is tight with more renters looking for a place to live than available units (Source: WTOL)

    The Toledo rental market is tight. There are fewer units in comparison to demand for them. That makes it an owner’s market.

    More >>

    The Toledo rental market is tight. There are fewer units in comparison to demand for them. That makes it an owner’s market.

    More >>
(Toledo News Now) -

It's a place our loved ones embrace as they age, and we hope they get the best care.  But what is really happening behind closed doors at nursing homes? 

WTOL 11 investigated a number of Toledo nursing home inspection reports from the Ohio Department of Health. The violations have the potential to put residents in serious danger.
 
A local Toledo woman spoke to us about the nightmare her sister is currently experiencing.  We are keeping her identity hidden because she works for the same company and her sister has not yet filed an official compliant due to her current medical condition. 
 
She tells WTOL 11, "While she was in there in a nutshell she contracted a urinary tract infection, pneumonia, the blood clot in the leg she had surgery on, and is now testing positive for MRSA which she did not have previously.  She was put in a room with a woman that was positive for MRSA."
 
Stacey Premo is Program Director of the Long Term Care Ombudsman Program under ABLE (Advocates for Basic Legal Equality, Inc).  Premo says from April 2013 through April 2014 there were 563 verified complaints at nursing homes in the 10 counties it represents.  
 
Premo says, "So for nursing homes our biggest complaint is involuntary discharge.  We do receive complaints of abuse and neglect within nursing homes... sometimes there's actual harm involved and we need to make sure that the proper authorities are also involved in the investigating."
 
After digging through multiple pages of the inspection reports, we found one of the biggest offenders is Darlington Nursing and Rehabilitation Center on Darlington Road.
 
According to the reports the facility had multiple standards not being met including: Housekeeping, not providing care/services for highest well being, and not keeping drug regimen free from unnecessary drugs.
 
The facility also had 22 complaints made to the Office of the State Long Term Care Ombudsman Program.
                   
We reached out to Darlington Nursing and Rehabilitation Center who gave us this statement:

"Darlington Nursing and Rehabilitation is dedicated to the care and wellbeing of its residents and staff. We pride ourselves on the 5 star rating awarded by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. In our 2013 state survey, Darlington received only one deficiency. In 2014, we had received 6 deficiencies and zero substantiated complaints during the last 12 months. The facility has taken immediate steps to correct all deficiencies which the state has since approved.  The Ohio Department of Aging Long Term Care Ombudsman has been an asset to Darlington Nursing and Rehabilitation and the facility will continue to foster a close working relationship to serve our clients and families. Darlington Nursing and Rehabilitation will sustain its commitment to providing the highest quality care and customer service.

- Michelle L. Hoff, Darlington Nursing and Rehabilitation Center
 
       
This is not the first time we've seen a nursing home with multiple violations.  In early 2013, the state pulled Liberty Nursing Center of Toledo's license after multiple violations were found.
 
Premo says ABLE helped relocate the residents to different facilities.
 
Tips from Premo when looking into long term care for a loved one:

1. Look at the environment.
2. Pay attention to how staff interacts with residents.
3. Look at the inspection reports from the Ohio Department of Health.
 
 
To find your regional Long-term Care Ombudsman Program click here: https://aging.ohio.gov/services/ombudsman/regional.aspx 
 
A link for more information on Nursing homes in your area click here:
http://medicare.gov/nursinghomecompare/search.html

 

Follow Toledo News Now:  

Mobile users, click on the "video" button in the app to watch this story.Download our app here.

Copyright 2014 Toledo News Now. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly