Joe Thomas and Brian Hoyer earn local PFWA awards

Joe Thomas and Brian Hoyer earn local PFWA awards

Cleveland Browns OL Joe Thomas and QB Brian Hoyer each have earned awards from the local chapter of the Pro Football Writers of America for the 2014 season.

Thomas was the unanimous selection for the PFWA Player of the Year and Hoyer was named the PFWA Dino Lucarelli "Good Guy Award" winner.

Thomas has not missed a single snap for the Browns since being selected with the third overall pick in the 2007 draft. Thomas has also been voted in the Pro-Bowl every year he has been in the league. Thomas has helped the improved Browns line and led the Browns to 16 rushing touchdowns, a drastic improvement from the four last year.

The "Good Guy Award" is given annually to a player for his cooperation with the media and for the way the player carries himself in the community and with his teammates. Hoyer started the first 13 games of the season and led the Browns to a 7-6 record, the best start for the Browns since 2007. He also led four fourth-quarter game winning drives in 2014.

Last year's Player of the Year award winner was WR Josh Gordon. The Dino Lucarelli "Good Guy Award" winner last year was OL Joe Thomas.

Copyright 2014


WOIO. All rights reserved.