Kenny Lofton, Carlos Baerga throwing out Games 1 & 2 World Series first pitches

Kenny Lofton, Carlos Baerga throwing out Games 1 & 2 World Series first pitches

CLEVELAND, OH (WOIO) - Kenny Lofton and Carlos Baerga will throw out the ceremonial first pitch during Game 1 and Game 2, respectfully, of the World Series at Progressive Field.

The pair of Cleveland Indians Hall of Famers will throw the ceremonial pitches of the first two games of the 2016 World Series. Teammates on the 1995 American League Champion Indians Kenny Lofton and Carlos Baerga will handle the prominent pre-game duties for Games 1 and 2, respectively.

The Cleveland Indians will play the Chicago Cubs in hopes of becoming 2016 World Series champions -- a title both teams haven't had in a combined 174 years.

The World Series was last won by the Indians in 1948. The team's competition, though, has waited even longer.

The Cubs haven't won the World Series since 1908, a 107-year drought. Combined with the Indians' 67-year streak, the two have waited 174 years for the title, making this the most combined years between World Series wins in MLB history.


Kluber to start Game 1
Indians no longer the underdog
Tom Hanks rallies behind the Tribe on 'SNL'
Tribe fever sweeps through Cleveland
Trevor Bauer, on whether he'll pitch in the World Series: 'Absolutely'
Last living member of 1948 Indians not happy with club, report suggests

Kipnis sprained his ankle hugging Lindor during an ALCS celebration
The Indians' ALCS celebration included a Dory helmet
Indians and Cubs have longest combined World Series drought in MLB history

Download the Cleveland 19 News app

Copyright 2016 WOIO. All rights reserved.