Twins Pitcher Wins AL Cy Young Award - Again


NEW YORK (AP) - For the second time in three years it's Minnesota pitcher Johan Santana collecting the American League Cy Young Award. The 27-year-old left-hander was named first on each of the 28 ballots cast by the Baseball Writers' Association of America, just as he was in 2004.

Santana tied for the Major League lead in wins and led the A-L in E-R-A, strikeouts and innings pitched. His 19 W's matched those of New York Yankees right-hander Chien Ming Wang, who was a distant runnerup in this year's vote.

Toronto's Roy Halladay, the 2003 Cy Young winner, finished third this time out.

Santana, who went 19-and-6 with a two-point-77 E-R-A and 245 strikeouts to lead Minnesota to the A-L Central title, is the fourth pitcher to be a unanimous choice twice.

Hall of Famer Sandy Koufax of the Dodgers is the only one to win this award three times unanimously. He did it when it was handed out to just one pitcher. Voting for both leagues began in 1967.