Another Top Honor for Troy Smith


NEW YORK (AP) - Ohio State quarterback Troy Smith is an overwhelming choice as The Associated Press Player of the Year.

The Heisman Trophy-winning senior received 59 of a possible 65 first-place votes by a nationwide media panel.

Arkansas running back Darren McFadden and Hawaii quarterback Colt Brennan were co-runners up in the balloting with two first-place mentions apiece.

Notre Dame quarterback Brady Quinn and West Virginia tailback Steve Slaton each got one vote.

Smith completed 67 percent of his passes and threw for 30 touchdowns with only five interceptions while guiding top-ranked Ohio State through an undefeated regular season. He'll end his tenure with the Buckeyes on January 8th in the BCS title game against Florida.