LaDainian Tomlinson Named AP's MVP of the Year


NEW YORK (AP) - San Diego's LaDainian Tomlinson has been named the winner of the Associated Press Most Valuable Player of the Year award.

He received 44 of the 50 votes, with New Orleans quarterback Drew Brees, a former teammate of Tomlinson's with the Chargers, getting four votes and Peyton Manning of Indianapolis the remaining two.

Tomlinson was a touchdown machine this season, running for 28 and passing for two. The total of 31 is a league record.

He carried the ball for 18-hundred-and-15 yards. He rushed for at least 100 yards in ten of the Chargers' 16 games.

Tomlinson is the first Charger ever to win the A-P award, which is recognized by the N-F-L as the league's official M-V-P.