Five To Be Inducted Into Rock Hall Monday

CLEVELAND (AP) - Van Halen, Grandmaster Flash and the Furious
Five, R-E-M, the Ronettes and Patti Smith will be inducted tonight
into the Rock Hall of Fame in Cleveland.

The ceremony will be held in New York City.

A panel of 600 industry figures selected the five acts. To be
eligible, artists must have issued a first single or album at least
25 years before nomination.

The Rock Hall also will honor Ahmet Ertegun, the founder of
Atlantic Records. He was a key figure in the careers of artists
including Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin and the Rolling Stones.