Former Ohio State Coach Picked For College Hall Of Fame

MORRISTOWN, N.J. (AP) - Former Ohio State football coach Earle Bruce was among 15 players and coaches selected for the College Football Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

Bruce coached the Buckeyes from 1979 to 1987, compiling an 81-26-1 record.

Overall, Bruce had a 154-90-2 record from 1972-92 at Tampa, Iowa State, Ohio State, Northern Iowa and Colorado State.

Safety Ronnie Lott and tight end Kellen Winslow, previously picked for the Pro Football Hall of Fame, were among 13 players selected for the hall.

Lott played from 1977-80 at Southern California before becoming a perennial All-Pro choice for 14 years in the NFL with the San Francisco 49ers, Los Angeles Raiders and New York Jets. Winslow played at Missouri from 1976-78 and then starred for nine years with the San Diego Chargers.

The other players honored were split end Terry Beasley of Auburn, tailback Sonny Franck of Minnesota, running back Cosmo Iacavazzi of Princeton, wide receiver John Jefferson of Arizona State, quarterback Dan Marino of Pittsburgh, tailback Napoleon McCallum of Navy, offensive guard Reggie McKenzie of Michigan, defensive back Randy Rhino of Georgia Tech, offensive tackle Jerry Sisemore of Texas, linebacker Gary Spani of Kansas State and defensive tackle Reggie White of Tennessee.

Also honored was Carmen Cozza, who coached from 1965-96 at Yale and posted a record of 179-119-5.

(Copyright 2002 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)