Kent State University welcomes 13th president

Kent state University's 13th President, Todd Diacon, Ph.D.
Kent state University's 13th President, Todd Diacon, Ph.D.(Kent State)
Updated: Jul. 1, 2019 at 11:36 AM EDT
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CLEVELAND, Ohio (WOIO) -Kent State University’s 13th president, Todd Diacon, Ph. D., assumed office Monday.

According to Kent State University, Diacon’s first day in office consisted of a workout at the Beverly J. Warren Recreation and Wellness Center, a breakfast with community leaders at the Kent State University Hotel and Conference Center, and an on campus luncheon with student leaders. Diacon also met with his cabinet to discuss university operations.

The University announced his presidency in April 2019 following a national search launched by the Board of Trustees.

Diacon formerly served as Kent State University’s executive vice president and provost under President Beverly Warren. Warren announced her resignation in October 2018 after serving five years as president.

Diacon joined Kent in 2012 following his role as deputy chancellor at the University of Massachusetts Amherst. He also worked at the University of Tennessee from 1989-2010.

Copyright 2019 WOIO. All rights reserved.