Cleveland Guardians announce 40-man roster

Cleveland Indians' Ernie Clement hits a double in the third inning of a baseball game against...
Cleveland Indians' Ernie Clement hits a double in the third inning of a baseball game against the Detroit Tigers, Friday, Aug. 6, 2021, in Cleveland. (AP Photo/Tony Dejak)(Tony Dejak | AP)
Published: Nov. 19, 2021 at 7:47 PM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CLEVELAND, Ohio (WOIO) - The first 40-man roster of the Cleveland Guardians era has been released.

The organization had to name its 40-man roster by 6 p.m. on Nov. 19 to prepare for the Rule 5 Draft in December.

The numerous transactions included adding 11 players to the club’s offseason roster.

OF Steven Kwan, RHP Cody Morris, and INF Richie Palacios had their contracts selected from Triple-A Columbus.

The contracts selected from Double-A Akron included INF Tyler Freeman, C Bryan Lavastida, LHP Konnor Pilkington, INF Brayan Rocchio, INF José Tena, and OF George Valera.

INF Jhonkensy Noel was a solo contract selected out of High-A Lake County.

Freeman, Kwan, Lavastida, Noel, Palacios, Rocchio, Tena, and Valera were Rule-5 eligible prospects.

Players who are signed at age 18 or younger have to be added to their club’s 40-Man roster within five seasons or else they will become eligible for the Rule 5 Draft.

Players who signed when they were 19 years of age or older need to be protected within four seasons.

What should you know about these new names on the 2022 roster?

Seven of them already made a name for themselves in the farm system last year when they earned the title of a 2021 Organizational All-Star:

  • C Bryan Lavastida
  • 2B Richie Palacios
  • 3B Jhonkensy Noel
  • SS Brayan Rocchio
  • OF Oscar González
  • OF George Valera
  • OF Steven Kwan

These latest additions to the Guardians’ 40-man were ranked as such for the MLB Pipeline Top Cleveland Prospects:

  • #1: Tyler Freeman
  • #2: George Valera
  • #7: Brayan Rocchio
  • #12: José Tena
  • #13: Bryan Lavastida
  • #14: Richie Palacios
  • #22: Cody Morris
  • #25: Jhonkensy Noel

Another addition to the Guardians’ 40-man roster is RHP Tobias Myers, who was acquired from the Tampa Bay Rays in exchange for INF Junior Caminero.

There were 36 players on the then-Indians 40-man roster when it was last shared by the organization on Nov. 5.

That’s when the then-Indians declined the club option on C Roberto Pérez and outrighted RHP Cam Hill and RHP Nick Wittgren to AAA Columbus.

Both pitchers elected free agency while Pérez was claimed on waivers by the Washington Nationals.

So, who did the Guardians cut from the 40-man for 2022?

RHP Justin Garza, OF Daniel Johnson, RHP J.C. Mejia, LHP Scott Moss, LHP Kyle Nelson, OF Harold Ramirez, and LHP Alex Young were designated for assignment.

Those Rule 5 Draft eligible who were left off the roster are OF Will Benson, IF Aaron Bracho, LHP Joey Cantillo, OF Oscar Gonzalez, and LHP Adam Scott.

Now, let’s dive a bit into who’s left...

As for those who were Indians and remain on the current Guardians roster, five are arbitration-eligible.

Those are RHP Shane Beiber, C Austin Hedges, INF Amed Rosario, OF Franmil Reyes, and OF Bradley Zimmer.

To be eligible for arbitration, players must have three years of service time, but fewer than six years.

The arbitration eligibility for RHP Cal Quantrill and OF Josh Naylor is still up in the air since the service time cutoff for Super Two players has yet to be determined.

There are seven players on the 40-man who are out of minor league options.

These are LHP Logan Allen, LHP Anthony Gose, LHP Sam Hentges, INF Bobby Bradley, INF Yu Chang, OF Oscar Mercado, and OF Bradley Zimmer.

If the seven said players are still in the Guardians organization when spring training ends, they must be named to the 26-man roster to avoid being placed on waivers, traded, or released.

Familiar big-league faces who have yet to be mentioned and are on the 2022 40-man roster include RHP Aaron Civale, INF Ernie Clement, RHP Clase Emmanuel, INF Andrés Giménez, RHP James Karinchak, RHP Triston McKenzie, INF Owen Miller, RHP Eli Morgan, RHP Zach Plesac, INF José Ramírez, RHP Nick Sandlin, RHP Trevor Stephan, and OF Myles Straw.

Minor leaguers who were also kept on the 40-man but have yet to make their debut in The Show are INF Gabriel Arias, INF Nolan Jones, and RHP Carlos Vargas.


Copyright 2021 WOIO. All rights reserved.