New E-Check options coming soon for Ohio residents

The State of Ohio has awarded the next E-Check contract to Envirotest Systems. The program will be changing to a decentralized program, which is required by House Bill 153.

"This contract will save Ohioans more than $2 million per year, while providing motorists with more testing options," said Ohio EPA Director Scott J. Nally.

The new program will provide motorists with multiple choices so motorists can decide if they want to take their cars to one of 53 independent repair/test stations, get it tested at one of the 23 current testing-only stations, or conduct their own OBD test at one of 16 free-standing kiosks.

The contract will begin on June 4, 2012, and run through June 30, 2015, with the possibility of two one-year extensions.

E-Check is designed to identify motor vehicles that emit excessive levels of pollutants into the air. Among the other emissions control options considered by the legislature, E-Check was the most cost-efficient measure to reduce the volatile organic compounds (VOC's) that form ground-level ozone, or smog.

The program currently tests cars in 7 Ohio counties including Cuyahoga, Geauga, Lake, Lorain, Medina, Portage, and Summit.

Currently, residents in the above mentioned counties must have their vehicles checked every two years.

Copyright 2012 WOIO. All rights reserved.