Ohio's 8 sanctuary locations and what it means for immigration matters

Published: Nov. 16, 2016 at 7:06 PM EST|Updated: Nov. 21, 2016 at 10:53 AM EST
Email This Link
Share on Pinterest
Share on LinkedIn

CLEVELAND, OH (WOIO) - Ohio has eight safe sanctuary locations and each jurisdiction generally has policies or laws that limit the extent to which a law enforcement or government employees will go to assist the federal government on immigration matters.

There is no legal definition of "sanctuary spaces." Some communities use nonbinding resolutions, executive orders and  police department policies to limit its assistance with the federal government.

The following are the eight sanctuaries in the state.

  1. Columbus, Ohio
  2. Dayton, Ohio
  3. Lake County, Ohio
  4. Lima, Ohio
  5. Lorain, Ohio
  6. Lucas County, Ohio
  7. Oberlin, Ohio
  8. Painesville, Ohio

More than 200 state and local jurisdictions have policies that call for not honoring U.S. Immigration and Customs Enforcement detention requests.

Students at Oberlin College, which is located in a sanctuary city, began circulating a petition asking President Marvin Krislov to "investigate how to make Oberlin a sanctuary campus that will protect our community members from intimidation, unfair investigation, and deportation."

The petition has been signed by more than 2,400 students, staff, faculty, alumni, and family who signed.

A campus march at 4:30 p.m. Nov. 16 was planned on Facebook at the college. As of 1:41 p.m. 346 people said they were attending the event. Cleveland 19's Harry Boomer will be covering the event.

Download the Cleveland 19 News app

Copyright 2016 WOIO. All rights reserved.