Look inside the historic Lorain lighthouse, the 'Jewel of the Port' today
LORAIN, OH (WOIO) - Hundreds of thousands of dollars and thousands of volunteer man hours have gone into restoring the Lorain Lighthouse on Lake Erie.
In 1965 the lighthouse was slated for demolition. Years of negotiation and volunteer labor has brought the tower back to its original glory. The original three-story lighthouse was built to withstand the force of Lake Erie. The current lighthouse was completed on April 7, 1919.
The first floor contains a power room, a storeroom and a bathroom.
A living room, bedrooms and pantry are all located on the second floor.
Lighthouse caretakers have painstakingly added details to reflect the time the lighthouse was in use.
The third floor has space for fog horns, a water tank and featured prominently, stairs leading to the lantern room.
In 1965 an automated tower took over operations for the harbor of Lorain.
The lighthouse was scheduled for demolition until the Lorain Historical Society and several citizens stepped forward to save the light.
In the fall of 1981 the plan to save the lighthouse was implemented.
It is the view from the lantern room that is coveted. From the lantern room you can look over the breakwall, see the city, or look out over Lake Erie.
The Lorain Lighthouse, the "Jewel of the Port," is a museum and testament to the years of the lightkeeper and the volunteers who fought to preserve her. .
Copyright 2018 WOIO. All rights reserved.