Gov. DeWine face mask mandate for 7 counties in effect in northern Ohio
Some question if face masks will make a difference with COVID-19
CLEVELAND, Ohio (WOIO) - Gov. Mike DeWine order making masks required in seven of Ohio’s counties took effect at 6:00PM Wednesay. The order applies to the seven counties that are currently classified under a “Red Alert Level 3,” because they have the highest number of coronavirus cases.
- Cuyahoga County
- Trumbull County
- Huron County
- Franklin County
- Montgomery County
- Butler County
- Hamilton County
Governor Mike DeWine says, “It will be necessary for individuals out in public to wear a mask. Primarily, this will be when they’re in a public place, such as inside a restaurant, bar, jewelry store, or some other place in public.”
He added masks must be work “when they are outdoors and unable to consistently maintain a distance of 6 feet or more from individuals not members of their household or while they are waiting for or riding public transportation or a ride sharing vehicle.”
It has been 121 days since the first coronavirus case was confirmed in Ohio. Now, for the first time, face masks are mandatory in public in Cuyahoga County.
More and more people are depending on a face mask to shield them from a sometimes deadly virus that we still know little about. But one Cuyahoga County woman says she has no problem with the State of Ohio mandating face coverings, because she's been wearing hers since March and is thankful others are doing the same.
The local woman who did not want to provide her name says, “I feel that whatever makes it safer for us and stops the spread of the virus, it’s better that we do something than nothing.”
She believes taking the precaution will also keep the area economically healthy.
“It will help prevent closures or any other progressions of shutdowns,” she said.”
But others aren’t so convinced that face masks keep COVID-19 from spreading. One woman out with her boyfriend for a walk to the store said, “I don’t feel like these do nothing but make you hot (as she pulled on her blue face mask). People still catching COVID and we been wearing them for three months now. I wear it cause it’s the law and I don’t want to get in trouble,” she said.
That’s because you could face a misdemeanor if you’re caught not wearing a mask in a public place that includes: restaurants, bars and stores.
Masks will be required in the following circumstances:
* Any indoor locations that is not a residence
* Outdoor spaces when 6 feet of social distancing is not possible
* When on public transportation or ride sharing
If you are jogging in an area that mandates face coverings you will still need to wear one, but might want to change the intensity of your run because it will decrease your airflow.
In work places masks and face coverings are mandated if you are not in an enclosed work space or there are not work rules or a law that prohibits it. Children 10 and under are not required to wear masks, and anyone with health issues are not required to wear face masks.
Local health departments will be responsible for enforcing the mandate, according to Gov. DeWine.
The order lasts until those counties no longer show “very high exposure and spread,” and does not apply to children under the age of 10 years old or if a physician advises against it.
Copyright 2020 WOIO. All rights reserved.